What is the eTA New Zealand?

The eTA for New Zealand (New Zealand Electronic Travel Authority) is an electronic visa waiver which will be launched in July 2019 and become obligatory for citizens of all 60 visa waiver countries, and all cruise travelers, by October 2019. All airline and cruise line crew will also need to hold a Crew eTA before travelling to New Zealand.

Citizens from NZeTA visa eligible countries will be able to obtain an eTA for New Zealand by completing a simple online application form.

There will be no need to physically go to an embassy or consulate and the eTA New Zealand online application form will only take a matter of minutes to complete. Once approved, the eTA New Zealand will be sent to the applicant electronically.

The New Zealand eTA will be valid for 2 years and can be used for multiple visits. Applicants will be required to pay a small processing fee and tourist tax, the International Visitor Conservation and Tourism Levy (IVL), to obtain the NZ eTA.

The IVL has been introduced as a way for travellers to contribute directly to the tourism infrastructure and help protect the natural environment they enjoy during their stay in New Zealand.

The application form will require applicants to answer a series of questions by entering personal information such as their full name, address, date of birth, passport details, and travel plans. There will also be sections on the New Zealand eTA form related to health and security.

NZeTA Specifications:

All airline crew and cruise line crew, no matter their nationality, will need to apply for a Crew eTA before traveling to New Zealand, which will be valid for up to 5 years.

Australian citizens will be exempt from applying for the eTA NZ. Australian permanent residents will need to apply for an eTA but are not required to pay the associated tourist levy.

Other exemptions from the New Zealand eTA Visa Waiver include:

  • * Crew and passengers of a non-cruise vessel
  • * Crew on a foreign ship carrying cargo
  • * Guests of the New Zealand Government
  • * Foreign citizens travelling under The Antarctic Treaty
  • * Members of a visiting force and associated crew members.